Recognizing Outstanding Achievement by IRF Fellows Around the World

The IRF Dr. Mino Award of Excellence was established in 2002 in honor of Dr. Sadamu Mino, an IRF Fellow from Japan who attended The Ohio State University as an IRF Fellow (Class of 1954). Dr. Mino's accomplishments were many, including Chairman Emeritus of Sumitomo Construction Co Ltd, but his most lasting contribution to the road development industry was his relentless efforts to promote technology transfer to those who needed it most.

The Dr. Mino Award, bestowed every four years, is the most prestigious award for IRF Fellows and was developed to recognize and honor outstanding graduates of the IRF Fellowship Program who leveraged their educational experience to make outstanding achievements in roadway development and planning around the world.

1,400 individuals have been named IRF Fellows since the first fellowships were awarded in 1949, and these Fellows have accomplished some incredible things over the past 70 years in 118 different countries.

The winner of the first Dr. Mino Award was Mr. Mario Leiderman, an IRF Fellow from Argentina who attended The Ohio State University in 1961. Mr. Leiderman’s career was extremely impressive, as a member of the Argentina State Highway Department, a Professor in Argentina, England and the United States, as well as an official for the Organization of American States (OAS). He created his own consulting firm and he continues to influence others to develop and implement better roads in many different countries.

In 2010, Mr. Moriyasu Furuki from Japan was named the second winner of the Dr. Mino Award. Mr. Furuki attended Purdue University in 1973 as an IRF Fellow. After completing his IRF Fellowship, he returned to Japan and forged an impressive career, which included four years as a project engineer at the Asian Development Bank, 30 years at the Ministry of Construction in Japan, a tenure at the Metropolitan Expressway Public Corporation, and finally as the executive director of the Japan Society of Civil Engineers.

The third Dr. Mino Award was presented at the IRF World Meeting in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia in 2013 to Oscar De Buen Richkarday from Mexico. Mr. De Buen attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1979 as an IRF Fellow. Mr. De Buen spent most of his career at the Mexican Secretariat of Communications and Transport (SCT), where he served as Undersecretary of Infrastructure from 2007 to February 2011. At SCT he helped to create the Mexican Transport Institute and to regulate federal toll road concessions. He also served as the president of the World Road Association (PIARC) from 2013 to 2016.

Nominations for the Dr. Mino Award are open to any IRF Fellow. Fellows may be nominated by an individual, government agency, private organization, or through self-nomination.

Nominations will be judged based on:

  • Consistent track record of significant contributions to the road industry;
  • Personal integrity;
  • Leadership and inspiration provided to others in the road industry;
  • The respect of professional peers;
  • General acknowledgement as having reached a pinnacle of his or her profession;
  • In addition to the completed application, a minimum of three letters of recommendation will be required.

More Information

Michael Dreznes

+1 703 535 1001

International Road Federation
Madison Place
500 Montgomery St, Fifth Floor
Alexandria, VA 22314