IRF Announces 2009 Student Essay Competition Winners

For Immediate Release: September 15, 2009

IRF announced today the five winners of its annual student essay competition. Students from more than 20 universities submitted essays to this year’s competition. An international panel of expert judges graded each paper and a winner from each category was selected based upon the cumulative scores from each judge.

This year the essay competition was open to five categories. The winners are listed below in each category:

Road Safety

Bo WangIowa State University

Sustainable Roads

Maha El-MetwallyVirginia Tech

Innovative Financing

Jeff ThieleUniversity of Nebraska-Lincoln

Intelligent Transportation Systems

Pengfei LiVirginia Tech

Pavement Technology, Maintenance and Management

Karen O’SullivanWorcester Polythecnic Institute

The award winners will be recognized at the Annual IRF Awards Banquet being held during TRB in January 2010.

Founded in 1948, the International Road Federation (IRF) is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization with members from both the public and private sectors in 90 countries worldwide. IRF promotes the development and maintenance of better, safer roads and road networks throughout the world, using technological solutions and management practices that provide maximum economic and social returns from road investment.


Editor's Pick

    Related Posts